Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

SRWC Soundwalk

Main content start
campus greenway

The COVID-19 Soundwalk at Stanford Redwood City is a walking route on campus, accompanied by a specially selected playlist of music performed by Stanford faculty and student musicians.

The walking loop is along the campus greenway (map below). Complete a loop around it and then share your reflections on the walk and the music on our online Kudoboard. The Soundwalk was created as part of a shared communal experience dedicated to remembering lives lost to COVID-19.

campus map with highlighted campus greenway loop

The path will take ~20 minutes to walk and is .7 miles.

oEmbed URL

The music in the playlist is from the following musicians and composers:

  1. J.S. Bach: Cello Suite #1 in G Major, BWV 1007, Prelude; Christopher Costanza, cello
  2. Joseph Haydn: String Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 20, No. 1, IV. Finale: Presto; The St. Lawrence String Quartet
  3. He Huaka’i; Stephen Sano, slack key guitar
  4. Frederick Delius: On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring; Stanford Philharmonia, Paul Phillips, conductor
  5. Bill Evans: Peace Piece; Stephen Sano, piano
  6. Joseph Haydn: String Quartet in D Major, Op. 20, No. 4, IV. Presto scherzando; The St. Lawrence String Quartet
  7. J.S. Bach: Cello Suite #4 in E-flat Major, BWV 1010, Allemande; Christopher Costanza, cello
  8. Hana; Stephen Sano, slack key guitar
  9. Joseph Haydn: String Quartet in A Major, Op. 20, No. 6, II. Adagio cantabile; The St. Lawrence String Quartet
  10. Ka ‘Oiwi Nani; Stephen Sano, slack key guitar
  11. George Walker: Lyric for Strings; Stanford Philharmonia, Paul Phillips, conductor
  12. J.S. Bach, Cello Suite in C Major, BWV 1009, Gigue; Christopher Costanza, cello

At points along the path, you're welcome to sit on the benches to have a moment of reflection accompanied to the below composition from Stanford Associate Professor of Music and chair of the Music Department, Jaroslaw Kapuscinski.

oEmbed URL